My wife has a built-in relationship health detector

My wife has a built-in relationship health detector. I’m not sure how it got there–I don’t remember installing it–but it’s there. I know she has one, because it went off yesterday morning. Usually, my wife and I wake up together and spend a few minutes cuddling each morning, telling each other how attractive we are, saying “I love you” way too many times… I’ll spare you the mushy details.

At a beach in MaineHowever, lately I’ve been waking up at about 5 am to read, write blog posts like this one, and review a few materials for medical school. For the past few days I’ve just kept reading until she was awake and having breakfast. Yesterday, after she was all dressed for work, she shuffled over to me, gave me a cozy hug, looked up at me with her pretty blue eyes, and quietly mentioned that it might be nice to do a little cuddling in the morning.

This sort of thing usually works on me immediately, as my wife’s blue eyes are very pretty. Somewhere along the way in our two years of marriage, someone told me about these relationship health detectors, and I’ve learned to pay attention to them. Without my wife, I have no doubt that I would immerse myself in studying all the time, reading all the time, or doing any number doing any number of things that don’t matter nearly as much as human relationships. God designed us for relationships with other people, and I’m fully convinced that anything meaningful we can do in life involves doing something kind for other people. My wife is the most important “other person” in my life, and her relationship health detector is very reliable, and very important.

Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her.
-Ephesians 5:25

4 responses to “My wife has a built-in relationship health detector

  1. Would you like to have this article featured in the first issue of my weekly personal development newsletter ‘Cheerp’?

    • Hi Jaky,

      Thanks for reading my post. I’d love to be in your newsletter, it sounds like fun. Please just credit my blog for the article. So it’s the first issue of your newsletter? I hope it goes well for you. Post me a link when you finish it and I’ll check it out.

      Ben

  2. This makes me feel extremely warm and fuzzy inside. That detector is vewwy important. It’s good to have a lightning rod to keep you grounded.

    • Ah, thanks Matt. Making you feel warm and fuzzy makes me feel warm and fuzzy, which is kinda weird, but still good, I think… See you soon!

What do you think?

