“When I’m a rich doctor…”

The list of things my wife and I are going to do “when I’m a rich doctor” has gotten rather long. Actually, we never really used this phrase seriously, but we do throw it around in jest quite a bit. We’ve thought of graduation from residency as the time when I’ll be what my wife calls “a normal person.” I’m not quite sure what she means by “normal person,” but as far as I can tell, a normal person is someone with time and money. Money is something I don’t need much of, but time is something I could use.

During medical school, I’ve seen less of my friends, and I’ve struggled to spend time with my wife. I haven’t exercised as much as I should. Perhaps worst of all, I’ve struggled to find time to pray and study Scripture.

“I can do all of these things when I have more time,” I usually tell myself. The problem is, life starts now. I may not ever have more time than I have now. No test, class, or student group is as important as my relationship with my friends and with God. Training to be a doctor is my life for the next seven years, and if I let my friends and family fall to the wayside, I’ll be very distant from them “when I’m a rich doctor.”

2 responses to ““When I’m a rich doctor…”

  1. I think everyone has seen less of everyone this year. However, at the same time, in the back of everyone’s (or those with whom I’ve spoken) mind we’ll have time later for each other to fraternize. And yet, we’re all still struggling to find that balance to enjoy the present as it is while preparing for the future. Half (or at least a major part) of medical school is time management. We miss you, Ben! šŸ™‚

What do you think?

