The sound of a low whisper

This weekend I’ve been frantically studying for a test on Monday. My routine is to wake up, study all day, and then go back to sleep to study again the next day. I usually manage to take a few breaks with my wife, but test weekends are hectic. This evening my wife is in bed, and I’ve taken a few moments to read Scripture and pray.

It makes me wonder why I ever let busyness push these quiet times out of my life. All the noise of school and responsibility stops, and everything feels silent. It reminds me of being in a dense forest, miles from any road, with thick, fat snowflakes muffling even the sound of the breeze in the trees–the quiet is complete.

Somehow, this is when God speaks. It’s nothing profound, but he’s here.

Scripture is a very, very good gift. It gives me times of silence like this. God speaks through it. For some reason, the Lord has chosen to work in our world this way–quietly and slowly. He shows himself through small, insignificant things.

God could work more obviously and with greater haste, but I imagine the world as we know it would cease immediately. We would all be so terrified, loved, and humbled that all our culture and commerce would fade to silent awe as the world was purged of evil and glorified to show God’s goodness.

Instead, God remakes the world silently and slowly, through quiet moments.

And behold, the LORD passed by, and a great and strong wind tore the mountains and broke in pieces the rocks before the LORD, but the LORD was not in the wind. And after the wind an earthquake, but the LORD was not in the earthquake. And after the earthquake a fire, but the LORD was not in the fire. And after the fire, the sound of a low whisper, a thin silence.”
-1 Kings 19:11-12

2 responses to “The sound of a low whisper

  1. This is how I feel today. It has been a wonderful afternoon. The Lord is good. Love you man.

  2. I know that time doesn’t “stretch” but I often say that God stretches time when I have spent time with Him and acknowledge His presence with me throughout the day. I get soooooooooooo much more work completed! On the other hand I get very little work completed when I DON’T spend time with Him first.

What do you think?

