“I have calmed myself and quieted my ambitions.”

“My heart is not proud, Lord,
my eyes are not haughty;

I do not concern myself
with great matters
or things too wonderful for me.

But I have calmed myself
and quieted my ambitions.”

-Psalm 131:1-2

For the past few years, this verse has been written on a note card and taped to the wall next to my desk. It reminds me that being great is not my concern. Having a great influence, effecting great changes–these are not why I’m here.

Max Lucado says the world needs “cardiac Christians.” The world needs people who are going to find something they’re good at, work at that thing until they become excellent at it, and never stop doing it until they’ve finished.

God didn’t intend for us to be experts at everything, and he didn’t intend for us to be wealthy or highly-respected. I’m interested in a lot of things, but God has only given me the time and talents to focus on a few things. I also tend to be prideful, to want to be the better than everyone else, but this is also a wrong attitude. God doesn’t want a bunch of gunners all wanting to be the best. He also doesn’t want a bunch of distracted, semi-competent Renaissance men. God needs cardiac Christians–people with purpose who are not distracted by “great matters.”

So calm yourself. Quiet your ambitions. Don’t be proud. Your pride will misguide you, but only God can direct you and make you profoundly useful. Seek God, and do something worthwhile with your life–even if that means doing something you regard as completely insignificant.

One response to ““I have calmed myself and quieted my ambitions.”

What do you think?

