I have never put my hope in any other but You, O God of Israel

“I have never put my hope in any other but You,

O God of Israel,

who can show both anger

and graciousness,

and who absolves all the sins of suffering man.

Lord God,

Creator of Heaven and Earth,

be mindful of our lowliness.”

This is an English translation of Spem in Alium, which is easily the most beautiful song I’ve ever heard. If you want to know why I’m a Christian, it’s in large part because knowing God makes me feel like this. The song was written by Sir Thomas Tallis in 1570 for eight choirs of five voices each. I have heard that it’s rarely performed because of its complexity.

What do you think?

