Then I will know fully

“Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when he appears we shall be like him, because we shall see him as he is.” -1 John 3:2 (ESV)

I once heard someone say that you become a conglomerate of the six people you spend the most time with. In my own life, I’ve found this to be true. But I’m especially similar to my dad, who raised me, taught me to read and fix cars, took me hunting and fishing, and generally spent a lot of time with me. I have a very sweet relationship with my dad, but God is my Father now. I wish I were skilled enough with words to tell you how beautiful it is to be a son of the Creator.

But I still sin. I’m still imperfect. All Christians are still imperfect. We’re like our Father, but we’re also a lot like small children, who can barely imagine the world from another person’s perspective. We fix our hope on God, and we’re being made pure (1 John 3:3–the verse after the one above), but we’re not pure yet.

In this world, we see everything dimly. We don’t totally understand ourselves, God, or how we should allow Him to change us. We sometimes imagine that we’re done losing our temper, or degrading women with our lustful thoughts, or chasing after money, but then we fall again. These failures are shortcomings in our relationship with our Father. If we could see Him as He is, then we would be the kind of people we ought to be. How could we possibly retain any of our imperfections if we are in a perfect relationship with our Father? For now, we see dimly, but then we will see everything fully.

“For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known.” –1 Corinthians 13:12 (ESV)

What do you think?

