I will put a new spirit within you, but not for your sake

These are the themes in Ezekiel 36:22-38.

  1. In order to glorify Himself, God would restore Israel. Israel did not deserve to be restored, but by restoring Israel, He would demonstrate the holiness of His name. “It is not for your sake, O house of Israel, that I am about to act, but for the sake of my holy name, which you have profaned.” (vs. 22)
  2. God would make Israel clean again. He would change their hearts, bending their thoughts, desires, and inclinations to do His work. God’s Spirit would come to dwell within His people, and He would restore them inwardly. “I will cleanse you. And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you…And I will put my Spirit within you.” (vss. 25-27)
  3. All the nations would see God’s restoration of Israel, and they would know that God is God. “Then the nations that are left around you shall know that I am the Lord; I have rebuilt the ruined places and replanted that which was desolate. I am the Lord; I have spoken, and I will do it.” (vs. 36)
What do you think?

